List: 10 Books I Read This Summer

I set three goals for myself this summer that I wrote down in my journal. I know I still have time, but I haven’t achieved a single one. Alas, there are two goals I didn’t officially write down that I am days away from accomplishing: read 10 books by the end of the summer and keep a journal. So it goes.

Image

Sherlock and a scone. How appropriate.

9 books down, 1 to go. Here’s what I’ve read this summer:

(Note: this was my first time to have read all of these!)

1. The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh

2. Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver

3. March by Geraldine Brooks

4. The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

5. The Beautiful and Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald

6. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

7. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

8. Bossypants by Tina Fey

9. Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter

10. ?????????

The Paris Wife is by far my favorite. I really love good historical fiction and this hit the nail on the head. March was recommended to me by my Babcia because Little Women is my all-time favorite book. It was fascinating to see the story of the March father and really gave me a new perspective. Prodigal Summer I actually started in January, but only read a chapter. I decided it was high time I finish! It was enjoyable, but slow in parts (The Bean Trees still remains my favorite Kingsolver novel). Bossypants. I can’t believe I missed reading this when it was released! I literally laughed out loud through most of the book and it was just what I needed to follow The Fault in Our Stars, which is soul-crushing. Beautiful Ruins I just finished and I’m still a little on the fence about how I feel.

For book #10 I’m considering Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Ann Fowler or another Sherlock novel. Also taking any other recommendations!

I hope this will inspire you to pick up a book if you haven’t in a while, or help you find your next read.

New goal: Read a book a month throughout the school year. We will see how that goes…

Have a wonderful day and happy reading!

About apapp93

Life is colorful.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Twitter!

Instagram

"Some old-fashioned things like fresh air and sunshine are hard to beat." -Laura Ingalls Wilder 👩🏽‍🌾
