Lies I Tell Myself: Competitive Drive

The Summer 2012 Olympics are fast approaching and I cannot stop thinking about them! Just imagine being one of those athletes. It’s unfathomable for me.

The design-rich London 2012 logo.

Thinking about the Olympics got my brain going. Competitive drive. Because we all know there’s only one gold medal. Sure, you got the chance to compete at this grand, elite showing of athletes from all over. But everyone wants that gold. Remember in Beijing when Michael Phelps won his seventh gold medal by 1/100th of a second?

Michael Phelps’ “Gold Rush”

Personally, I’ve always denied that I’m competitive. In some areas, that’s a reasonable claim. However, most of the time, I’m just smothering my burning desire to be the best at EVERYTHING. I’ve never really participated in team sports with a clear-cut winner, but that doesn’t mean that in my brain I can’t win. In dance, in yoga (getting better about this-it is supposed to be relaxing, after all), in school, in working out. The worst part is that to me, I don’t want to try things that I think I’ll be bad at, just because I “have” to be the best!

But admitting it is the first step, right? Here you go, laid out for the world to see. I am super competitive.

And that’s okay!ย There are good and bad things about being a competitive person: it gives you drive and motivation, but can lead to petty jealousy and bitterness as well. It’s important to be a good sport when you lose, and gracious when you win. It’s also important to accept, if you’re like me, that you do have a competitive drive! Embrace it! Use it to your power and improve yourself on a daily basis.

Today, my challenge to myself is to step out of my comfort zone and do something I’ve talked myself out of because I think I’ll be terrible at it. We all need some humbling failure in our lives.

-A

About apapp93

Life is colorful.

2 responses to “Lies I Tell Myself: Competitive Drive

  1. Taylor B.

    So important that you recognize this about yourself and are working on being less hard on yourself! Perfection doesn’t always equal happiness and being the best as something doesn’t always ensure gratification! Do what you love and makes you feel good ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Twitter!

Instagram

"Some old-fashioned things like fresh air and sunshine are hard to beat." -Laura Ingalls Wilder ๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿฝโ€๐ŸŒพ
